Print this article   Email this to a friend


GENEVA COUNCIL - Working for global peace and stability in a world of conflicts without borders

29-30 June 2007



Opening address by the Secretary General of the Socialist International, Luis Ayala

Welcoming remarks by the Director-General of the International Labour Organisation, Juan Somavía

Welcoming speech by Minister Moritz Leuenberger, Member of the Swiss Federal Council, Social Democratic Party of Switzerland

Working for global peace and stability
in a
world of conflicts without borders 

- The Israeli-Palestinian situation

Keynote speech by the President of the Palestinian National Authority, H.E. Mahmoud Abbas

Colette Avital, Member of the Knesset, Israel Labour Party

Yossi Beilin, Leader of Meretz/Yachad Party, Israel

Massimo D’Alema, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Democrats of the Left, DS, Italy

Jonas Gahr Store, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Co-Chair of the Socialist International Middle East Committee, Norwegian Labour Party, DNA

Pia Locatelli, President of Socialist International Women


- The future for Lebanon

Keynote speech by the leader of the Progressive Socialist Party, PSP, Walid Jumblatt


- Iraq: which way forward?

Keynote speech by the President of the Republic of Iraq, H.E. Jalal Talabani

Keynote speech by the President of the Kurdistan Regional Government, Massoud Barzani



Benazir Bhutto, Leader of the Pakistan People's Party, PPP

Deniz Baykal, Leader of the Republican People's Party, CHP of Turkey


Launch of the Socialist International Commission for a Sustainable World Society 

Keynote address by Ricardo Lagos, Special Envoy of the United Nations Secretary-General on Climate Change, former President of Chile

Keynote address by Goran Persson, former Prime Minister of Sweden


Guest speaker: Kemal Dervis, Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme, UNDP


Juan Fernando Lopes Aguilar, former Minister of Justice, Spanish Socialist Workers' Party, PSOE

Beatriz Paredes, President of the Institutional Revolutionary Party, PRI, Mexico

Mohamed El Yazghi, First Secretary of the Socialist Union of Popular Forces, USFP, Morocco, Minister of the Environment

Eero Heinäluoma, Chair of the Finnish Social Democratic Party, SDP

Sergei Mironov, Chairman of the Council of Federation, Chairman of the Justice Party, Russia

Rolando Araya, Chair of the SI Committee for Latin America and the Caribbean, National Liberation Party, PLN, Costa Rica

Paulo Pisco, International Department, Socialist Party, PS, Portugal

Oleksandr Moroz, Chair of the Socialist Party, PS, Ukraine


- Ensuring stability in the Western Balkans

Ranko Krivokapic, President of the Parliament of the Republic of Montenegro, Socialist Democratic Party, SDP

Milorad Dodik, President of the Alliance of Independent Social Democrats, SNSD, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Jan Marinus Wiersma, Vice-President of the Socialist Group in the European Parliament

Milos Jevtic, Member of Parliament, Democratic Party, DS, Serbia

Skender Gjinushi, Chair of the Social Democratic Party, PSD, Albania

Arta Dade, International Secretary, Socialist Party of Albania, SPA

Igor Ivanovski, Vice-President of the Social Democratic Union of Macedonia, SDSM


- Making peace work in Côte d’Ivoire

Keynote address by Pascal Affi N’Guessan, President of the Ivorian Popular Front

Ousmane Tanor Dieng, First Secretary of the Socialist Party of Senegal, Chair of the Socialist International Africa Committee

Toumani Djimé Diallo, Assembly for Mali, RPM



Special address by Gediminas Kirkilas, Prime Minister of Lithuania, Lithuanian Social Democratic Party

Mircea Geoana, President of the Social Democratic Party, PSD, Romania, Co-Chair of the SI Committee for South-Eastern Europe


- The search for solutions in the Caucasus

Armen Rustamzan, Chair of Armenian Socialist Party’s Supreme Council, Chair of the Foreign Relations Commission on the National Assembly

Araz Alizadeh, Co-Chair of the Social Democratic Party of Azerbaijan

Tadeusz Iwinski, Democratic Left Alliance, SLD, Poland

Yury Buzdugan, Leader of the Social Democratic Party of Ukraine, SDPU


Yiannikis Omirou, President of the Movement of Social Democrats EDEK, Cyprus



- Ending violence in Colombia

Horacio Serpa, Liberal Party Colombia


Miguel Vargas Maldonado, Presidential Candidate, Dominican Revolutionary Party, PRD



- Consolidating peace in Nepal

Sher Bahadur Deuba, President of Nepali Congress (Democratic), former Prime Minister

Sushil Koirala, Vice-President of Nepali Congress and Member of Interim Legislative Parliament of Nepal