Previous Councils

30-31 January 2006

Images (33)

Previous Councils

Print this article   Email this to a friend


ATHENS COUNCIL - Peace, Democracy, Solidarity: among peoples, across cultures

30-31 January 2006


Monday, 30 January


Peace, Democracy, Solidarity among peoples, across cultures

José Socrates, Prime Minister of Portugal, General Secretary of the Portuguese Socialist Party

Ibrahim Boubacar Keita, President of the Malian National Assembly, President of the Assembly for Mali, RPM

François Hollande, First Secretary of the Socialist Party of France

Mohamed Elyazghi, First Secretary of the Socialist Union of Popular Forces, USFP

Poul Nyrup Rasmussen, President of the Party of European Socialists

Deniz Baykal, Chair of the Republican People’s Party, CHP, Turkey

Alfred Gusenbauer, Chair of the Social Democratic Party of Austria

Rolando Araya, National Liberation Party, Costa Rica

Jeltje van Nieuwenhoven, Dutch Labour Party

Keynote Speech by Juan Somavia, Director-General of the International Labour Organisation

Piero Fassino, National Secretary of the Democrats of the Left, DS, Italy

Election of the President of the Socialist International

Address by the President of the Socialist International

Monday, 30 January


Elio Di Rupo, President of the Socialist Party of Belgium, PS

Contributions on the main theme (continued)

Vassos Lyssarides, Honorary President of the Movement of Social Democrats EDEK, Cyprus

Trinidad Jiménez, International Secretary of the Spanish Socialist Workers’ Party

Antonio Hama Thai, Member of the Political Commission of Frelimo, Mozambique

Saúl Escobar, International Secretary of the Party of Democratic Revolution, Mexico

Hocine Aït-Ahmed, President of the Socialist Forces Front, FFS

Barbara Prammer, SIW Vice-President and Deputy President of the Austrian Parliament

Oleksandr Moroz, Chair of the Socialist Party of Ukraine

Mario Nalpatian, ARF Armenian Socialist Party

Monday, 30 January



For a peaceful, stable and integrated Balkans: the Social Democratic approach

Keynote addresses

Sergei Stanishev, Prime Minister of Bulgaria, Chair of the Bulgarian Socialist Party

Mircea Geoana, President of the Social Democratic Party of Romania

Boris Tadic, President of Serbia, President of the Democratic Party, DP

Hashim Thaçi, Leader of the Democratic Party of Kosovo

Edi Rama, Chair of the Socialist Party of Albania

Karolina Ristova, SDSM International Secretary, FYR Macedonia

Mirjana Feric-Vac, SIW Vice-President, Social Democratic Party of Croatia

Rafael Estrella, Spanish Socialist Workers’ Party, PSOE

Hannes Swoboda, Socialist Group in the European Parliament

Monday, 30 January


Working for peace and democracy in the Middle East

Amir Peretz, Leader of the Israel Labour Party

Ilan Halevi, Fatah, Palestine

Roby Nathanson, Yachad, Israel

Raymond Johansen, Foreign Affairs State Secretary, Norwegian Labour Party

Massimo D’Alema, President of the Democrats of the Left of Italy

Doureid Yaghi, Vice-President of the Progressive Socialist Party of Lebanon

Yianakis Omirou, President of the Movement of Social Democrats EDEK, Cyprus

Khosrow Abdollahi, Democratic Party of Iranian Kurdistan, PDKI

Raja Perves Ashraf, Deputy Parliamentary Leader in the National Assembly of Pakistan, Pakistan People’s Party

Tuesday, 31 January


Overcoming poverty and inequality: global priorities for our movement today

Mahamadou Issoufou, President of the Party for Democracy and Socialism for Niger, PNDS

Carin Jämtin, Swedish Minister of Development Cooperation, Social Democratic Party, Sweden

Navinchandra Ramgoolam, Prime Minister of Mauritius, Leader of the Mauritius Labour Party

Ricardo Nuñez, President of the Socialist Party, Chile

Christoph Zöpel, Social Democratic Party, SPD, Germany

Ramón Alburquerque, President of the Dominican Revolutionary Party, PRD, Dominican Republic

Margarita Zapata, SIW Vice-President, FSLN, Nicaragua

Manuel Laguarda, International Secretary of the Socialist Party, Uruguay

Mhenni Hedi, General Secretary of the Constitutional Democratic Assembly, RCD, Tunisia

Zita Gurmai, SIW Vice-President, MSzP Hungary

Victor Bolívar, Democratic Action, AD, Venezuela


Report on the Socialist International Women Bureau Meeting
Marcia Alexaki, SIW Vice-President, EDEK Cyprus

Presentation of the IUSY World Festival to be held in 2006
Herick Campos, IUSY Vice-President, PSOE Spain