SI Committees

12-13 July 2004

Images (10)


Print this article   Email this to a friend


Dakar was the venue of the SI Africa Committee

12-13 July 2004

Hosted by the Socialist Party, PS, of Senegal, the Socialist International Africa Committee convened in Dakar on 12-13 July 2004.

Ousmane Tanor Dieng, Leader of the PS and Chair of the Committee, Luis Ayala, Secretary General of the Socialist International, and Jacques Baudin, on behalf of the host party, addressed the gathering at the opening session which, along with delegations from 24 member parties of the International, was also attended by 200 specially invited guests from the Senegalese political spectrum including the leaders of the parties which make up the ‘Cadre Permanent de la Concertation de l’Opposition’, CPC, the alliance of parties in the opposition which includes the PS of Senegal.

‘Democracy and electoral processes’, ‘Good governance and economic development’ and ‘Conflicts in Africa : the case of Cote d’Ivoire’ formed the basis of the Committee’s discussions, and were initiated with specially prepared introductions.

Following a rich and fruitful debate, the participants adopted the Declaration of Dakar summarising the Committee’s agreements and recommendations on the main themes, discussed and approved Resolution on the Crisis in Côte d'Ivoire and another highlighting the plight of arrested Senegalese journalist Madiambal Diagne.

List of participants

Other activities

If you are looking for an earlier meeting, please consult the LIBRARY section.