Print this article   Email this to a friend

Peace, Security and Disarmament

Meeting of the Socialist International Peace, Security and Disarmament Committee, Tbilisi, 10 May 1998

10 May 1998

Security and stability in the South Caucasian states of Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan were the main themes of the meeting of the SI Peace, Security and Disarmament Committee, SIPSAD, held on 10 May in Tbilisi and a number of representatives from the region gathered to highlight the situation. (Full list of participants) Organised in collaboration with our member party Citizen's Union of Georgia, CUG, and chaired by Committee Chair Günter Verheugen, Social Democratic Party of Germany, SPD, this was the first meeting of the Socialist International to be held in the Caucasus. Zurab Zhvania, President of the Parliament of Georgia, welcomed delegates and conveyed greetings from Eduard Shevardnadze, Chairman of the CUG. Günter Verheugen emphasised the importance of this Committee's meeting in the region as a way of showing solidarity with and support for the peoples of Georgia, Armenia and Azerbaijan and expressing concern for a region of growing strategic importance which is at a crossroads politically, culturally, and economically. It was SIPSAD's role, he summised, to create a broader understanding of peace and security, away from diplomatic and military efforts to economic, social and democratic considerations.

In its resolution, presented to the Council in Oslo where it was adopted, the Committee acknowledged the successful implementation of political and economic reforms in Southern Caucasus and called on all parties to make every effort to achieve solutions to conflicts within and between individual states, including through procedures mediated with the UN and the OSCE. It also emphasised the need for peaceful cooperation within the region, especially in the fields of protection of human, civil and minority rights as well as economic development.

The next meeting of the Committee will focus on current disarmament issues and will be held in collaboration with the relevant bodies of the UN.


Chair of SIPSAD

Günter Verheugen
(Germany, SPD)

Secretary General of the Socialist International
Luis Ayala

ARF Armenian Socialist Party

Vartan Hagopian
Kegham Manoukian
Arthur Khachatryan

Social Democratic Party of Azerbaijan, SDPA

Zardusht Alizade
Arzu Abdullayeva

Socialist Party, PS

Françoise Daucé

Citizens' Union of Georgia, CUG

Zurab Zhvania
Michael Machavariani
Nino Burgjanadze
Giorgi Baramidze
Zurab Nogaideli
Kakha Cnitaia
Michael Saakashvili
Tamara Kiknadze
Tamara Ghughunishvili
Rostom Dolidze
Nani Chanishvili

Social Democratic Party of Germany, SPD

Dietrich Sperling
Gisela Nauk

Panhellenic Socialist Movement, PASOK

Constantine Stephanou

Swedish Social Democratic Party, SAP

Gunnar Stenarv

Office of SI President
Axel Queval

SI Secretariat
Gabriela Shepherd


European Forum for Democracy and Solidarity

Conny Fredriksson
Dasa Sasic Silovic
Sonia Lokar

Euro Left Party

Ivan Todorov

Georgian Labour Party, GLP

Zurab Zhvania
Vazha Khidasheli
Ada Marshania

Socialist Party of Georgia, SPG

Vakhtang Rcheulishvili
Nana Devdariani
Teimuraz Gamtsemlidze
George Mchedlishvili
George Gurgenidze

Social Democratic Party

Gemal Kakhniashvili
Badri Nachkebia
Zaza Dodashvili
Zaza Shonia

Agrarian Party

Zaur Ghlonti

Socialist Party of Russia

Yuri Deryabin


Other activities

If you are looking for an earlier meeting, please consult the LIBRARY section.