Print this article   Email this to a friend

Middle East

Meeting of the Socialist International Middle East Committee, Ramallah and Tel Aviv

14-15 March 2002

A meeting of the Socialist International Middle East Committee opened in Ramallah on Thursday 14 March, with the participation of the President of the Palestinian Authority and leader of Fatah, Yasser Arafat. The meeting resumed on the following day in Tel Aviv where delegates were addressed by the leader of the Israel Labour Party and Israel's Minister of Defence, Benjamin Ben-Eliezer, the leader of Meretz, Yossi Sarid, and Foreign Minister Shimon Peres.

The two-day discussions centred on how to stop the violence and resume the peace negotiations in the region, building on the long-standing commitments of the International for peace in the Middle East and reflecting the concerns of social democrats worldwide about the latest tragic developments in the region.

The meeting provided a platform for dialogue and discussion with the leaders and representatives of the International's member parties in the region, the Israel Labour Party, Meretz and Fatah, counting with the participation of Thorbjørn Jagland, leader of the Norwegian Labour Party and Chair of the Committee; Luis Ayala, Secretary General of the Socialist International; and representatives of SI member parties, from the Social Democratic Party of Austria, the Socialist Party, PS, of Belgium, the Social Democratic Party of Germany, the Labour Party of Great Britain, the Panhellenic Socialist Movement of Greece, the Democrats of the Left, DS, of Italy, the Italian Democratic Socialists, SDI, the Socialist Union of Popular Forces of Morocco, the Labour Party of the Netherlands, the Norwegian Labour Party, the Socialist Party of Portugal, the Swedish Social Democratic Party, and of the International Union of Socialist Youth, Socialist International Women, and the Parliamentary Group of the Party of European Socialists. (Full list of participants)


Chair of the Committee
Thorbjørn Jagland
(Norway, DNA)

Secretary General of the SI
Luis Ayala

Social Democratic Party, SPOe
Fritz Edlinger

Socialist Party, PS
Simone Susskind

Social Democratic Party, SPD
Günter Gloser
Wolfgang Weege

The Labour Party

Ernie Ross

Panhellenic Socialist Movement, PASOK

Costas Stefanidis

Israel Labour Party

Benjamin Ben Eliezer
Shimon Peres
Raanan Cohen
Colette Avital
Abraham Hatzamri
Efraim Sneh
Roby Natanzon
Leslie Rayne
Ben-Ami Erlich
Esther Herlitz
Yona Iahav
Raleb Majdala
Nurit Yardeni
Arik Hadad
Erez Shani
Eran Mozel
Yossi Atia
Yuval Frenkel

Yossi Sarid
Monica Pollack
Naomi Chazan
Roi Yellin
Latif Dori
Arieh Shapir

Democrats of the Left, DS

Marina Sereni
Nicola Manca

Italian Democratic Socialists, SDI

Ugo Intini

Socialist Union of Popular Forces, USFP
Abdelhamid Ben El Cadi

Labour Party, PvdA
Alvaro Pinto
Bert Koenders

Norwegian Labour Party, DNA
Kathrine Raadim

Yasser Arafat
Yasser Abed Rabbo
Hanni Al-Hassan
Ilan Halevi

Socialist Party, PS
José Lamego

Swedish Social Democratic Party, SAP
Oscar Stenström

International Union of Socialist Youth, IUSY
Martin Sandgren
Samir Al Assi

Socialist International Women, SIW
Ester Levanon-Mordoch
Daphna Sharfman

Parliamentary Group of the PES
Emilio Menéndez Del Valle
Jannis Sakellariou

SI Secretariat

Latifa Perry
Sophie Thérouanne

Other activities

If you are looking for an earlier meeting, please consult the LIBRARY section.